As a section our main focus is touring but we also offer members the opportunity to race.  We have had great success in our racing section over the years with five National Hill Climb Championship team victories since 1999 and numerous time trial victories.  Members have taken part in track leagues at Manchester and Kirkby, road races, cyclo-cross and the Beard Cup Hill Climb.  

In order to race with our club you will need to reside within postcode districts BB1 to BB7 and be a member of Cycling UK.  We make exceptions for riders who reside just outside this area. 

We are currently affiliated to Cycling Time Trials (CTT) as well as North Lancashire Time Trial Association (NLTTA) and Sporting Courses (SPOCO).  You will also need to join our racing section to offset the cost of affiliating to the organisations named above.  The cost is £10 per year payable at the clubroom in January.  A refund of £5 will be given the following year if you marshal, help or ride in one of our two Open Events.  

 Our racing colours are royal blue with the winged wheel badge and Blackburn & District CTC in white letters on the back.  In the AGM of 1982 it was resolved that, ‘Members must wear club colours in all open races of national organisations to which the club is affiliated and that they carry no advertisement whatsoever, other than the garment manufacturer’s logo.’  

 For further information contact the Racing Secretary – Dave Collinge (

Beard Cup 2009

National 2008

DC National Hill Climb Northumbria

Ian on The Rake 1999

The Rake 1999

DC - Bolton by Bowland

Beard Cup 2006

Carl and Ian on the Kirby Track